• Home
  • About GEAPS
  • News
  • Meetings
  • Chapters
  • Knowledge
  • Networking
  • Opportunities
  • GEAPS News
  • In-Grain Newsletter


Search GEAPS News

To view the news archive click here.

For more information about GEAPS news, contact GEAPS.

Published 10/26/2016

GEAPS Accepting Applications for 2017 Safety Awards Program

The Grain Elevator and Processing Society (GEAPS) is now accepting applications for the 2017 Safety Awards Program. For many years the program has recognized facilities that go an entire year without a work-related lost-time injury or illness. Those facilities will still be recognized, and the program is expanding with a new tier for facilities that have zero recordable work related injuries or illnesses. Facilities that successfully complete the program are rewarded with a plaque, and are recognized at the Exchange, on the GEAPS website and in GEAPS’ monthly newsletter.


Barb Kraft, Landus Cooperative, GEAPS first vice president, will preside over the Safety Awards at GEAPS Exchange 2017. “Safety is one of the most important topics in our industry,” Kraft said. “It’s important to share our successes with our peers. With the new tier, we are excited to recognize facilities that set an even higher bar for safety.”


Applications are available on GEAPS Safety Awards website, and must be completed and submitted to GEAPS by Tuesday, Jan. 10, 2017. Facilities must then go all of 2017 without a work-related lost-time injury or illness, and submit their 2017 OSHA 300A form, along with the total number of personnel hours worked at the facility during the calendar year. For facilities outside the U.S., a separate form is available, or a signed letter on company letterhead stating that there were no lost-time injuries or illnesses and reporting the total personnel-hours worked will be accepted. Please contact Deb Most with GEAPS for more information.


The program is open to grain storage and grain processing facilities, as well as suppliers and millwrights.  The enrollment fee is $95 for facilities that employ a GEAPS member, and $140 for non-member facilities. Only one facility discount is allowed per member.



Results of the program are announced each year at the Exchange.  2017 Safety Award winners will be recognized at Exchange 2018 in Denver, Colorado, and 2016 program winners will be announced at Exchange 2017 in Kansas City, Missouri.