Safety Awards

Enrollment Open for GEAPS 2018 Safety Awards

Published: Nov 30, 2017 by Rebecca Jackson

Enrollment Open for GEAPS 2018 Safety Awards

The Grain Elevator and Processing Society (GEAPS) is now accepting applications for the 2018 Safety Awards Program. The program recognizes facilities that go an entire year without a work-related lost-time injury or illness and facilities that have zero recordable work-related injuries or illnesses. Facilities that successfully complete the program are rewarded with a plaque, and are recognized at the Exchange, on the GEAPS website and in GEAPS’ monthly newsletter.


Robert Taylor, Cargill, GEAPS first vice president, will preside over the Safety Awards at GEAPS Exchange 2018. “Understanding what is driving injuries within our industry is as important as identifying the high risk activities performed that has the potential of causing serious injuries or fatalities,” Taylor said. “By recognizing those facilities that have instilled a strong safety culture, we help reinforce all the planning and designing that goes into keeping our colleagues and facilities safe.”

Applications are available on GEAPS Safety Award­­s website, and must be completed and submitted to GEAPS by Monday, Jan. 8, 2018. Facilities must then go all of 2018 without a work-related lost-time injury or illness, and submit their 2018 OSHA 300A form, along with the total number of personnel hours worked at the facility during the calendar year. For facilities outside the U.S., a separate form is available, or a signed letter on company letterhead stating that there were no lost-time injuries or illnesses and reporting the total personnel-hours worked will be accepted. Please contact Deb Most with GEAPS for more information.

The program is open to grain storage and grain processing facilities, as well as suppliers and millwrights.  The enrollment fee is $95 for facilities that employ a GEAPS member, and $140 for non-member facilities. Only one facility discount is allowed per member.

Results of the program are announced each year at the Exchange. 2018 Safety Award winners will be recognized at Exchange 2019 in New Orleans, and 2017 program winners will be announced at Exchange 2018 in Denver, Colorado.