Elected by GEAPS members and guided by GEAPS bylaws, GEAPS Board of Directors works to fulfill the mission of our organization while remaining true or its roots. The board works to advance the strategic plan, do today’s work and plan for the future of our organization.

GEAPS members may request copies of Board meeting minutes by sending an email to Julia Kloehn.

Chuck Kunisch
Chuck KunischPresident

Michigan Agricultural Commodities (MAC)
Michigan / Southern Ontario Chapter

Chuck Kunisch is corporate safety director and specialty soybean manager for Michigan Agricultural Commodities, Lansing Michigan. A GEAPS member since 2002, he has served on the GEAPS Board of Directors before being elected as an officer. For the last 10 + years he has served as a member of the Exchange Educational Programming Committee. Chuck also serves on the MSO Chapter board, is a member NGFA’s SHEQ committee as well as the MABA safety committee and the SSGA competitive shipping action team.

Chris Blair
Chris BlairBoard Chair

NEW Cooperative Inc
Greater Iowa Chapter

Chris Blair is the western district manager at New Cooperative, Inc., Pomeroy, Iowa. He has been a GEAPS member since 2007. He was elected to serve as a director in 2015 and became an officer in 2021. Blair chairs the Executive Committee and he is also a member of the Continuing Education Program Oversight Committee.

Austin Carpenter
Austin CarpenterFirst Vice President

Clear Creek & Associates Inc
Hoosier Chapter

Austin Carpenter is sales manager at Clear Creek & Associates Inc, Crown Point, Indiana. He has been a GEAPS member since 2010 and was elected in 2018 as an Associates Board director and representative to the GEAPS Board of Directors. In 2022 he was elected second vice president. Austin is active in the Hoosier Chapter and the Great Lakes Regional Conference planning committee.

Jori Templeton
Jori TempletonSecond Vice President

Temco LLC - Kalama
Columbia River Chapter

Jori Templeton is production supervisor for Temco LLC, Kalama, Washington. She joined GEAPS in 2016 and was elected in 2021 as a board director. Jori also serves as vice chair of the Membership Committee, as a member of the Chapter Resource Committee and as president of the Columbia River Chapter.

Matthew Schmitt, PE, SE, CGOM, CGPM, GHEM
Matthew Schmitt, PE, SE, CGOM, CGPM, GHEMSecretary

Greater Iowa Chapter

Matthew Schmitt is a Sr. Structural Engineer for VAA, LLC, Plymouth, Minnesota. A GEAPS member since 2014, he is a past president of the Greater Iowa Chapter and past chair of the Membership Committee. In addition to his volunteer leadership with GEAPS, he has served as a director on the Ankeny Economic Development Corporation board and is a member of the Knights of Columbus Council 5569. Matthew has worked in the grain, seed, and processing industry for more than 10 years. During that time, he has earned GEAPS Credentials in Grain Operations Management, Processing Management and a Specialist Credential in Grain Handling Equipment Management.

Bob Horvat, PE
Bob Horvat, PETreasurer

Cargill Inc
Minneapolis Chapter

Bob Horvat, PE is manufacturing tech lead for Cargill Inc, Wayzata, Minnesota. He has been a GEAPS member since 2010 and was elected in 2019 as a board director. In 2020, Bob was appointed treasurer and in that role he leads the board’s stewardship of GEAPS’ financial resources and oversight of funding strategies for member programs, services and general operations.

Casey Abel
Casey AbelDirector

Lonestar Chapter

Casey Abel is safety manager for Viterra, Saginaw, Texas. He joined GEAPS in 2019 and was elected in 2021 as an board director. Casey also serves as president of the Lonestar Chapter.

Holly Betten
Holly BettenDirector

Landus Cooperative
Greater Iowa Chapter

Holly Betten is HR business partner for Landus Cooperative, Farnhamville, Iowa. She joined GEAPS in 2021 and was appointed as a board director. Holly was elected to a three-year term in 2022.